Happiness project: Overcoming the digital conspiracy with the bullet list

11 Mar

I’ve whined aplenty about losing a couple of posts about our bedtime routine recently. I turned around — 1,200 or so words into the effort — and *poof*. Pulitzer down the drain. I re-created it, with less passion and more frustration, only to see it devoured by the void, too.

I often see things as fate, so I read the tea leaves; evidently, there must be some mystic power in the bedtime routine, something that must be kept secret … So, if you read this and you’re bummed about what you didn’t get to read … It isn’t my fault; I was just trying to not be cast into oblivion like those posts! I’m too pretty — and have too many kids to support — to sucked into some Tron-universe and fried by cycle trails (or whatever that thing was … or the scary Frisbees …).

Just to prove that the digital universe continued to conspire, I had another post put together, but I forgot a vital step in getting it on the blog … and the one below is only now seeing the light of day.

If you can’t lick ’em, you probably shouldn’t have tried. That’s a motto that will serve you well in life. Something else that will serve you well — the bullet list. In fact, this happiness post is random things that make me happy in a format that makes me happy. As a writer, the list is your friend. In the back of your mind, you know. You know that no matter how informative and illuminating the previous prose might be, the eye gets drawn to those little black dots.

And – closet confessional time – some times, us writers, we don’t really feel up to this thing we do. The bullet list can make your job a lot easier. So here is a random assortment of simple things that bring a smile to my face:

  • The bullet list – It’s a like all-you-can-eat bacon; I can’t help it. See above for other reasons
  • Clean sheets on my bed – I don’t know why they feel so good. But they do.
  • The cool side of the pillow – I don’t know why it feels so good. But it does.
  • Fred Travalena. Really, just saying and typing “Fred Travalena.” Try it sometime; just as a random answer to a question, say, “I think that might have been by Fred Travalena.” It will confuse others, and you’ll smile cause you’re so darn clever.
  • Any piece of mail that comes from a real person, not a business or political organization. When was the last time you got a real letter from someone? I miss those days.
  • Thin Mints – the Girl Scout cookies. They were developed by the CIA as an experiment for addiction. Sure, you could eat two or three at a sitting, but you’re just as likely to eat an entire sleeve of those suckers.
  • Naps – Why is it that you don’t appreciate this most simple of pleasures until you’re an adult. Seriously, if I could have nap time every day, I’d take that deal in a heartbeat.
  • Kid soccer games – The younger the better, because this is unstructured improv comedy at its best. It’s like the soccer ball has a magnet in it, and the children surround it in a pack. Of course, then there are the kids with no interest in the game, picking flowers, playing their own games or whatever. They can be as fun as the game.
  • Ice
  • The first time someone listens to the musical stylings of Jonathan and Darlene Edwards. It’s a life-changing experience. I swoon at the exertion.
  • Surprises – after a certain point, it gets hard to be surprised by anything. That’s why I LOVE having no idea what I might receive as a present.
  • Looking at someone sleeping (kids, significant others) during the middle of the night and seeing how peaceful they look.
  • Swinging on a swing – yeah, even today.
  • Cake – really of any kind. Cupcakes, included … but if you’re thinking of surprising me, chocolate will get you major points. Major points.
  • Spell check – It’s the only thing standing between me and linguistic purgatory.

So, if you’ve made it this far, take the Pepsi Challenge, my happy friend. Leave a comment here and bullet list me a few of your itty bitty faves …
You’ll be glad you did.

If you haven’t already, visit some of the other great people who have taken the happiness challenge … Here are links to their blogs:

2 Responses to “Happiness project: Overcoming the digital conspiracy with the bullet list”

  1. JT March 12, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    In no particular order:
    -watching movies
    -riding motorcycles
    -live music
    -walking aimlessly around the mall
    -thumbing through magazines
    -photographing my kids
    -being around my wife
    -classic video games
    -coffee
    -beer

  2. Catia March 13, 2012 at 9:14 am #

    Oh so many wonderful, list-able things in life!
    Here are a few of mine:
    Imagination
    Chocolate-Chip Pancakes
    Macaroni and Cheese
    The Steps Down to the Lake at Camp
    Caramel Latte’s (especially when accompanied by meaningful conversation and an extra shot of caramel…)
    Jacqueline Du Pre and music played with passion.
    Cedar Waxwings & Woodpeckers

    🙂 Thanks for a great post!
    Peace and Grace,
    Catia

Leave a Reply

